Border Canberra vs Sydney Challenge

Border Bank was a proud sponsor of the Border Canberra vs Sydney Golf Challenge.

On 9 August, 30 Border golfers from Canberra and Sydney battled at the Mollymook Hilltop golf course for the Canberra Sydney Challenge, associated bragging rights and a number of other prizes.

Playing off the blue (back) markers made for a very challenging day. While the 137 slope rating was applied to all handicaps, all the scores indicated it was hard going for everyone.

Neil Koos from Sydney won the Terry Bartlett Shield for the highest individual stableford score (on a count back) with 30 points. Rod Vaughan was the runner up, also with 30 points.

The winning 4BBB pair, with 37 points, was Rodney Vaughan and Frank Egan who won the Canberra Sydney Cup. The second pair was Andrew Crawford and Bill Unwin with 36 points.

Canberra retained the Thos. V Maher trophy, which was first awarded in 1952, with a 4 points to 3 win over Sydney.

A very enjoyable day for all concerned.